Dear Facebook

Posted: July 26, 2012 by jaultma2 in PULSE Worship
Tags:


Dear Facebook,

It’s not you. It’s me. Well it’s kind of you and mostly me. Ok maybe it’s quite a bit of you but it’s still a lot of me.

I want to thank you for all the good you’ve done for me over these past six and a half years. I’ve been able to keep in touch with faraway friends, see the world through pictures and share lots of great memories with people I love.

But, alas, I’m afraid this is the end. You see Facebook, my mom and dad once taught me that everything you put in your head finds a way out. At the time I disagreed but now I see the wisdom in their words. It’s the same Wisdom echoed in Colossians Ch. 3. If we allow our minds to be filled with temporary, unimportant garbage soon our lives are going to take on an similar stench. Instead we should fill ourselves with eternal things. Things of great import and Godly value.

Unfortunately Facebook, I’m afraid your temporary far outweighs your eternal and that represents your fault in all of this. But, like I said it’s not just about you.

Lately my Facebook timeline has been filled less with friends and warm memories and more with anger, gossip and hatred. And despite how much I detest those things it seems my time spent digesting it is ever increasing. It may be Facebook that provides the temporary trash but it’s me consuming it by the bowlful.

To that end it is now time for me to literally practice what I preach. So, I’m sorry Facebook. We’re done. I’m not deleting my account, or rejoining myspace in some act of rebellion, I’m just not going to allow myself to consume any more trash. Instead I’m going to focus on making my life count eternally.

I’m sure I’ll be back some day. But, hopefully it is as a stronger person. One with the will to sort through the negative to still enjoy the positive. But, until that day, Facebook, I bid you adieu. It really isn’t you, it’s me. It’s all of us.

– Me

Leave a Reply

